Reviews

0 thoughts on “Guest Review – The Hobbit

  1. Uh… yeah. I’m with you 100%! I spent the whole wishing for a scene like that one with Sam.
    And yes, yes, yes on the CGI!!! Why he did it that way, I’ll never know. The orcs and goblins and all those things looked so much better in LOTR. Even the CGI ones. I thought the effects in this looked really cheap, and I saw it in 2D at 24fps.
    My review goes up tomorrow. Here’s the link: http://www.fromthesupermassive.com/?p=1666

    • I will be sure to read your review, Sebastian. I’ve so far found myself far outnumbered by my friends in terms of reactions – another CineKatz writer, for example, loved this film. I find this bewildering on multiple levels, but nevermind. It comforts me to know that the film looked just as cheap in 2D form as it did in 3D. Ugh. Times 4.

  2. Another entertaining insight of a much anticipated film. So far the people of these parts have enjoyed it, but I look forward to seeing it myself over the winter holiday. Great job, Ries.

  3. I actually really enjoyed this film, although i agree with you about the CGI and how the dramatic change of landscape left us questioning how they got there. I do have to say you cant be upset they kept the essence of the book instead of changing it to fit more inline with LOTR. But i would have prefered a continuation of the excilent quality and darkness LOTR gave us.

    • I can too be upset they kept the essence of the book! lol I’ll be curious to see if the next couple of films adjust their tone, however. We’ll all have to wait and see.

  4. Overall I loved the film and actually appreciated some of the film’s lighter moments. They fit since the source material is a children’s book and much lighter in tone than The Lord of the Rings. My biggest issue was the extreme length. It took forever to get started as I didn’t need to meet each dwarf individually. Once Bilbo reconsiders and joins the group the next morning, that’s when the movie got going for me. I appreciated everything after that. I enjoyed reading your review and actually, 6.9 isn’t really that bad of a score at all. I’d however give it an 8.0 using your scale. You can read my take on it if you like.

    • Hey Mark! Thanks for stopping by. One of the things that struck me as odd about this movie was that people disagreed on a lot of things. Even people who liked it disagreed on what they liked, and the cynics like me who didn’t like it disagreed on what they didn’t like. I too found the length to be wearying – though that might have had to do with the fact that it was closing in on three in the morning when this film came to a close. As for the tone, Jackson did a great job preserving the tone of the Hobbit – but it would have been just as easy/justified for him to carry at least SOME weight over from the Lord of the Rings into this movie. I wish he’d taken that route but, unfortunately, he didn’t. I’m glad you liked the film, and I’m glad you liked my review! I’ll definitely head over and check yours out as soon as I come into possession of an internet connection that isn’t sketchier than a Da Vinci drawing.

  5. I have a feeling that i will like this movie, and then you will shun me for the rest of forever…*sigh* I know i will be checking this one out with my husband who likes to geek out about the lord of the rings movies, but i will tell him to go in with extremely low expectations that way he is sure to like it 😉

    • Belinda, you probably will love this film. And I will shun you for all time. Naturally. Only not really. 🙂 In fact, I hope you love this movie. I would never hope a bad movie experience on anyone. You would do well to warn your husband about the enormous shift in tone, however, if he is a Lord of the Rings fan.

  6. Every December I watch the LOTR trilogy. Without fail. Your review reminded me of every reason that I do it, and also every doubt I had in the Hobbit.

    • I’ve come to acknowledge the Lord of the Rings trilogy as a Christmas tradition, as well. I will probably revisit them this weekend. I’m already excited. 🙂 I’m glad to hear we shared opinions on the Hobbit! You, me and Sebastian seem somewhat outnumbered. We shall be the Fellowship of the Naysayers.

  7. Pingback: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly | The Cinematic Katzenjammer

  8. Pingback: The Hobbit: All of the Reviews | The Cinematic Katzenjammer

  9. Am so sorry that this did not suit better but you and your views are of value to me so I will go and be disappointed as well. Bummer

  10. Pingback: LAMBScores: Return To Middle Earth, part 1 | The Large Association of Movie Blogs

  11. Alright Ries, here you go:
    -I agree about the CGI being blah.
    -Like most the other comments, I felt that they captured the “mood” of the book well. It’s supposed to be a lot lighter than the LOTR and perhaps we should reserve judgement on that aspect of the film until the the next two segments are released.
    -I felt that the ending was a bit abrupt (probably bc they tried to turn one story in to three)
    -I’m willing to give Peter Jackson a little more slack about the dwarves personalities than you though. I remember reading an interview they did with I think Peter Jackson where he said that one of the hardest parts of filming the movie was giving each dwarf their own personality. In the books they’re all kinda just viewed at as a group and not individuals. Sure, Thorin is the leader, Fili and Kili are the youngsters, Balin is the wise old one and Bombur’s just…. fat. Outside that there wasn’t much that distinguished one from another beside their cloaks. Given what he had to work with, i’d say that Peter Jackson did alright in that department.
    -I really liked the scenes with Gollum and felt Andy Serkis deserves a good amount of credit for that. I think he did an even better job in The Hobbit than he did in LOTR.
    -The underlying theme of racism was really hammered hard in the film. Though a very important aspect of the story I didn’t need to be reminded of it every ten minutes.

Leave a comment