Box Office Talk

Box Office Talk: Jack Reacher, This is 40 Predictions

I don’t pretend to understand why some movies are release when they are, or why some aren’t released when they should be. Christmas Day we get two highly anticipate films (Django Unchained and Les Miserables), and one film that has the potential to be a hit family film (Parental Guidance).

This weekend there’s four new releases, and I only see two of the four possibly having box office success. One particularly could be somewhat of a breakout hit, since Tom Cruise continues to be a box office draw. I think Disney could quite well finally put an end to the 3D re-releases, as I expect Monsters Inc. 3D to continue the downward spiral of money the re-releases have generated since The Lion King. The new Judd Apatow movie has potential, but if it turns out the film is more drama than comedy it’s going to get less than positive word of mouth. As for The Guilt Trip, I really don’t have anything to say. The movie just doesn’t look good to me, and I expect the box office is going to show that I wasn’t alone in my assessment.

Since the holiday season is upon us, I decided that as my gift to you all I’d write-up a short poem…so enjoy it after the box office predictions.

Here’s how I see the weekend Top 10:

Box Office Predictions

RANK TITLE JOE’S PREDICTION
1 The Hobbit: An Expected Journey $45,700,000
2 Jack Reacher $20,000,000
3 This is 40 $14,000,000
4 Monsters, Inc. 3D $9,000,000
5 The Guilt Trip $7,000,000
6 Rise of the Guardians $5,700,000
7 Lincoln $5,300,000
8 Skyfall $4,300,000
9 Life of Pi $3,100,000
10 The Twilight Saga:
Breaking Dawn Part 2
$2,700,000

Twas the weekend before Christmas
and 4 new movies to feature.
Monsters, Inc. is back with Mike and Sully in 3D
while Tom Cruise plays Jack Reacher.
Judd Apatow returns to the world of Knocked-Up
with his new film This is 40.
Seth Rogan takes Babs on The Guilt Trip
and the box office for it will be a shorty.
Oscar contenders like Lincoln and Life of Pi will do fine,
as will Skyfall with Bond, but The Hobbit will shine.
Drink a soda, eat some popcorn and enjoy a movie or two,
Merry Christmas to you all from Joe and Two Dude Review.

0 thoughts on “Box Office Talk: Jack Reacher, This is 40 Predictions

Leave a comment