2012 / Reviews / T

This is 40: This is a Review

“A look at the lives of Pete and Debbie a few years after the events of Knocked Up”
Directed by: Judd Apatow, Rated: R, 134 minutes

This is 40 is a look at the lives of Debbie (Leslie Mann) and Pete (Paul Rudd), post Knocked Up, as they both cross the 40-year-old threshold.

The film doesn’t really have much of a plot other than following the life of Debbie and Pete, and their two daughters are played excellently by Apatow and Mann’s real-life daughters, Maude and Iris. The married couple’s relationship struggles because of many things, but financial troubles seem to be at the root of it all.

This is 40 was a very personal viewing experience for myself. I watched it with my wife, and although we are far from forty and not nearly as obnoxious as Debbie and Pete, I found a way to relate and connect with these characters on an emotional level. Things that might be hard to sympathize with are that they have nice cars, a huge house and live a privileged life (albeit, beyond their means). However, I found this element interesting because there is a struggle when someone is used to one life-style they’ve become accustomed to and are force to change the way they live. I just think it would of been less interesting if these were middle class Joe’s trying to short-sell their house. That would of been a different film.

The usual Apatow improvisation is definitely intact, and it especially shines through when Rudd and Mann are riffing while on vacation. This was definitely one of the highlights of the film, as you see the two of them connect and show you how strong their bond really is when pulled away from everyday life. It also broke up the tension that exists throughout most of the rest of the film. The other time that the improv really shines is when Leslie Mann, Paul Rudd, and Melissa McCarthy get into a bit of a verbal altercation in front of the principle of their children’s school.

It’s not all people being sh*tty to each other. There are a lot of jokes and some damn good ones too (some others could have hit the cutting room floor). I sat in a section where the entire theater seemed to be reduced to sobbing tears only to be broken up by a really stupid joke by Paul Rudd that probably wasn’t necessarily as funny as everyone wanting an excuse to stop crying. Beware – There is a part where Apatow’s youngest daughter brings down the house… to quote David Johansen, “ NIAGARA FALLS.”

It’s funny because I actually turned to my wife and said something I never thought would come out of my mouth – *whispering rudely in the theater* “I want to punch Paul Rudd so bad right now.” After the movie, I had a conversation with her about it and she said that she sympathized with Paul Rudd’s character, whereas I found myself sympathizing with Leslie Mann. Her argument was that Pete was just trying to find a way to do what he wanted to do, and if that meant playing on the iPad while taking a poop, then so be it. I felt like Mann had a lot of desire to do good and that he was constantly pushing her buttons, sometimes just to do it. So, yes, she was being a bitch. Almost always.

Leslie Mann was fantastic in This is 40. She should be because she essentially is playing an exaggerated (I hope) version of herself. As I recall, Debbie was an awful person in Knocked Up. Anyone that is surprised by this performance must not have seen that film. She’s almost evil in a way, but really just wanting the best for everyone. This is 40 kind of gives us a chance to go deeper into her back-story and we find out why she is the way she is. Paul Rudd, is excellent as always. His comedic timing is perfect in conjunction with Mann and he is believable as hell. The problem is that, as his character does to Debbie, he must give way to Mann’s performance.

This is 40 will divide fans of Apatow and generally anyone that watches it. If you aren’t married or have kids it’s going to not really hit you as hard, if at all. I don’t think Rotten Tomatoes is how you should judge a film, right now This is 40 sits at around 51%. It says a lot because I think you will either find these characters absolutely revolting or you will relate and connect with them. I found myself falling into the latter category. I found myself not only relating as a husband and father, but also thinking back to my childhood and growing up with a sibling. If you have ever been part of a family (which most of us have), there has to be something here for you. I believe that as time goes on, and the audience grows, this film will also grow on people. I will say that the re-watchability of this film (for myself) is going to be extremely tough. It takes you to places you don’t necessarily want to go when watching a comedy, especially one from the guy that directed The 40 Year Old Virgin. I would like to re-visit this film when I turn forty and see if it holds up or if I just feel indifferent to it.

I give this film high praise and I think it’s pretty fantastic. I cannot, however, recommend it highly. I think you have to be in the right mindset. It’s not going to be for everyone. If this were an Indie film it would probably get more praise because it actually felt a lot like one in many places to me. Maybe it’s Apatow’s injecting of his love of Indie music in almost every scene of  the film.

What I like is that this is not a safe move for Judd Apatow. This is kind of a daring film to make considering he’s built an audience that follows Paul Rudd, Jason Segel, Jonah Hill, James Franco, and Seth Rogen just to name a few. It was a personal film (his entire family + Paul Rudd as Himself = This is 40). This is 40 is what he wants to do as a director and not catering to what the audience expects from him. Good for him. Not everyone will love this film and that is understandable.

Overall: 8.9/10

0 thoughts on “This is 40: This is a Review

  1. I think this is one of the few positive reviews I’ve actually read of the film.. lol. Still, probably going to be a rental for me.

  2. Yeah, I know it wasn’t the popular view, but it just hit me a little differently than everyone else, I guess.

    … But, I don’t blame you for waiting for rental.

Leave a comment