On the Wall

On the Wall: This Week in Posters

Here are ten of the best posters from this week. We’ve got a pair of Ethan Hawke, and Michael Bay films. My thoughts on The Great Gatsby, and many many more.

before_midnight

Before Midnight

Director Richard Linklater reunites with stars Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy for Before Midnight. This is the third film about Jesse (Hawke) and Celine (Delpy), and it takes place nine years after the last time we saw them together.

great_gatsby_ver16

The Great Gatsby

Here is a poster for The Great Gatsby, starring Tobey Maguire and Leonardo DiCaprio. Sometimes I think I’m the only person that has never read the book. I’ve also never seen director Baz Luhrmann’s Romeo + Juliet or Moulin Rouge!. See where I’m going with this?

greetings_from_tim_buckley

Greetings from Tim Buckley

Penn Badgley plays late musician Jeff Buckley in this biopic, Greetings from Tim Buckley. Tim Buckley was also a famous musician, and Jeff’s father that he didn’t know. If you’ve never heard Jeff Buckley’s music, you definitely should give it a listen. Not only was he a great guitarist, but he has one of the most hauntingly beautiful voices I’ve ever heard.

hangover_part_iii_ver2

The Hangover Part III

This is an awful poster, but I love John Goodman. I just don’t know of many movie posters that give away actual points in the plot. Now I have to assume that Goodman is some sort of gangster. Unless it’s misdirection, which is just as annoying.

kings_of_summer

The Kings of Summer

I want to see this movie incredibly bad. Three kids take off for the woods, and decide to make it their home. After doing really well at Sundance this year, the release date has been moved up to May 31, 2013.

movie_night

Movie Night

I threw this one in because it’s cool. Movie Night is about a 15 year-old that is obsessed with horror movies, and begins to kill the people that bully him during a week long horror movie marathon.

oblivion_ver5

Oblivion

Awesome IMAX poster. Oblivion hasn’t blown me away with any of the trailers, but I’m becoming more interested as we get closer to the April 19th release date.

pain_and_gain_ver3

Pain & Gain

I think my favorite thing about this poster (besides The Rock being ridiculously jacked) is that it says “This is a true story.” I could imagine Michael Bay repeating that over and over on set.

purge

The Purge

For one night of the year, every crime in America is legal. Weirdly enough, Michael Bay is also a producer on this thriller starring Ethan Hawke.

world_war_z_ver2

World War Z

Brad Pitt looks out over the wreckage in this new World War Z poster.

0 thoughts on “On the Wall: This Week in Posters

  1. Great Gatsby is my most anticipated film of the year but that poster is awful; World War Z’s doesn’t look all that great either. Loved the ones for Before Midnight, Tim Buckley and Kings of Summer.

Leave a comment