blogathons and such

My Movie Alphabet Blogathon Part II: G-L

Mettel Ray Movie Blog is hosting a blogathon for the ages. I’ll admit, I’m a little upset I didn’t come up with the genius idea but I’m glad a blog I really admire was able to come up with it. The idea behind the My Movie Alphabet Blogathon is exactly what you think it is. Come up with a list, A to Z of movies you love, actors you admire, directors you worship, or anything else related to the cinema. While this is quite the tasking idea and could be redone and redid over and over, I’m going to break up my entry for the blogathon into four segments. You can take a look at Part I here. Otherwise, let us carry forward to Part II!

Garden State– 2004
Directed by
: Zach Braff, Rated: R, 102 minutes

Many movie lovers have that one film that turned them onto the cinematic world and made them realize it’s more than moving pictures on a screen. Garden State is that film for me. It’s beautiful, it’s emotional, and yet it’s so simple in it’s execution and story. It’s also one of the first times I have fallen madly in love with a character on screen (Natalie Portman’s Sam). It also shaped my own music tastes, as its soundtrack is one of the best I have ever heard. I’m still waiting for Zach Braff  to make something else this good.

Honorable Mentions: Gattaca, Gladiator, The Grey

Halloween 1978
Directed by
: John Carpenter, Rated: R, 91 minutes

Is there really any other film worthy of this spot? Halloween is still one of the only movies that genuinely creeps me the f**k out. Michael Myers, in my opinion, is the king of all slasher villains and his debut film of 1978 shows you why. It’s suspenseful in what it doesn’t show you and the theme music gives me chills every time I hear it. Carpenter crafts an intense thriller and turns a poorly made, spray-painted mask of William Shatner into something terrifying. This movie scarred me as a kid and still leaves me a little on edge today.

Honorable Mentions: Home Alone, Hot Fuzz, Hugo

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade– 1989
Directed by
: Steven Spielberg, Rated: PG-13, 127 minutes

Could there really be any movie to occupy this space? The Last Crusade is by far my favorite Indiana Jones movie and is a perfect end to an incredible trilogy (nothing else came after this, okay?).  It’s heavy on the action, even more so on the religious themes, has Indy fighting tons of Nazis, and unites him with his dad (Sean Connery). The film features some of my favorite scenes in movie history and is memorable on so many different levels. The film also gives us a quick prologue, where we see how Indy came to be, starring the late River Phoenix. Yes, it’s awesome.

Honorable Mentions: Inglorious BasterdsInception, Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus

Jurassic Park– 1993
Directed by
: Steven Spielberg, Rated: PG-13, 127 minutes

Keeping up with Spielberg, the J spot has to go to Jurassic Park, a movie that terrorizes while leaving you absolutely amazed. Growing up I was obsessed with dinosaurs and JP brought all of my obsessions to life in the best way possible- through a theme park. A pioneer of special effects and animatronics, it’s still the best monster movie of the modern age. It’s no wonder no one has tried to make another dino-flick since. Also, the theme music never fails to produce the chills.

Honorable Mentions: Jaws, Ju-On, James and the Giant Peach

Kill Bill: Vol. 1– 2003
Directed by
: Quentin Tarantino, Rated: R, 111 minutes

Quentin Tarantino is one of the greatest directors of all time. He’s a master of dialogue and style and his long worked on Kill Bill series is an homage to all sorts of films. He’s a movie nerd who makes movies and you can see it in his work. With Vol. 1, we’re presented with the beginning of  the Bride’s quest for revenge (a dish that’s best served cold, mind you) and her violent slaying through a gang of assassins that tried to kill her. Stellar soundtrack, incredible visuals, and a spot-on perfect Uma Thurman make Vol. 1 a masterpiece.

Honorable Mentions: A Knight’s Tale, King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters, Kick-Ass

L.A. Confidential– 1997
Directed by: Curtis Hanson, Rated: R, 138 minutes

L.A Confidential is a mystery-thriller with a lot of style and incredible performances. Set in 1950s Los Angeles, the film reeks of cool. So much in fact, you feel transported back in time. Not many films that have come out in the last twenty years have been able to capture the noir feeling of old Hollywood like L.A. Confidential. The movie is sexy and unexpected and has a great ending. Throw in Guy Pearce, Russell Crowe, and Kevin Spacey and you have something incredible.

Honorable Mentions: Lucky Number Slevin, Let the Right One In, Lord of War

What is your movie related alphabet from G-L? Any of my picks you agree on? Any you can’t understand why I would choose them at all? Let me know below.

0 thoughts on “My Movie Alphabet Blogathon Part II: G-L

  1. I love your choice of Garden State, that didn’t come to mind when I did mine.

    The only pick I wouldn’t have gone for is LA Confidential. Dare I say… it bored me a little? Despite the fantastic performances.

    • I was trying to go for films I didn’t see on other lists. I love the film but can understand where you may think it’s boring. Thanks for the comment, as always!

  2. Good list (as always) but I’ve got a couple bones to pick. Shocker, I know. I would’ve put Gladiator in over Garden State, and I would’ve picked something other than LA Confidential. I’m also keenly aware that I’m a book snob, and therefore am biased against the film. However – fear not, for I come also bearing glad tidings! You can still put “Two Towers” in for T later on, or “Return of the King” in the R’s!

    • Good call on adding the LOTR movies later on. As for LA Confidential, I was just wanting to branch out a bit more and go with a less obvious choice. Don’t make me regret my alphabet lol.

  3. I totally agree about Garden State. I watched it just at the right time in my life to start making films click with me even more than they did already. I came up in a movie-loving family though so I had those roots started from a young age.

    Jurassic Park… how did I not include this on my list?? Also, I prefer Kill Bill Vol 2, but I think I might be in the minority on that one.

    • 2 has its moments, I think. But it turns the story of revenge into more of a “awwww, I love my kid” kind of story. Glad you’re on the same page with me on Garden State, though.

Leave a comment